Dropbox is bringing a long-awaited feature to Dropbox for Business customers a little earlier than everyone else.

In an attempt to cater to customer demand, the San Francisco-based file sync and share company on Tuesday announced in a blog post that it's introducing its most recent features for shared folders -- view-only permissions.

Alicia Chen, a software engineer at Dropbox who authored the post, said customers can now "now grant shared folder members the ability to view but not edit folder contents.

"Sometimes you have a large group of people -- like the sales team -- who need to view content in a shared folder, but only a few people -- like the regional leads -- who need to make edits to files," she said.

To solve this dilemma, Dropbox added view-only permissions to give everybody "access to the latest version but editors can keep control over content."

Admins can turn on this new feature for their teams in the Admin Console.

The news follows Dropbox's most recent acquisition: MobileSpan, a Santa Clara, California-based technology company focused on transitioning enterprises to a bring-your-own-device (BYOD) world.

Follow CJ Arlotta on Twitter @cjarlotta and Google+ for further updates on the story above.